Skip to main content

Glorian serves millions of people, but receives donations from only about 300 people a year. Donate now.


Arcanum Ten

Tarot 10

From the strictly academic point of view, the word evolution means “development, construction, progression, improvement, advance, edification, dignification,” etc.

Taking a clear, orthodox and purely grammatical approach, the term devolution means “inverse progression, retrogression, destruction, degeneration, decadence,” etc.

Obviously, it is urgent that we emphasize the transcendental idea that the law of antitheses coexists with any crude natural process. This concept of content is absolutely unimpeachable, unassailable, and irrefutable. Specific examples include day and night, light and darkness, construction and destruction, increase and decrease, birth and death, etc.

The exclusion of either of these two aforementioned laws, evolution and devolution, would give rise to a static, quiescent, radical paralysis of natural mechanisms.

To deny then any of these two ordinances in fact represents a fall into barbarism...

There is evolution in the plant that germinates, develops, and grows. There is devolution in the plant that ages and slowly deteriorates until it becomes kindling.

There is evolution in every organism that gestates, is born, and grows. There is devolution in every creature that expires and dies.

There is evolution in every cosmic oneness that emerges from chaos. There is devolution in every planet in a state of consumption designated to become a moon, a corpse...

There is evolution in every ascending civilization. There is devolution in any descending culture...

It is evident that both aforementioned laws constitute the fundamental mechanical axis of nature.

Unquestionably without such a basic axis, the wheel of natural mechanisms would not be able to turn. Life flows in waves that rotate with the Arcanum 10 of the Tarot...

Waves of Essences start their evolution in the mineral kingdom, proceed with the plant state, continue on the animal scale, and finally reach the level of the intellectual humanoid... Afterwards, waves of life descend, devolving towards the interior of the planetary organism to go down through the animal and plant scales, returning down to the mineral kingdom.

The wheel of samsara turns. On the right side, evolving Anubis ascends. On the left, devolving Typhon descends.

The condition of the intellectual humanoid state is excessively relative and circumstantial.

We have been quite justly told that any of the humanoid periods always consist of a hundred and eight existences of both the evolutive and devolutive type, more or less alternating. To clarify: to each rational humanoid cycle, a hundred and eight lives are assigned, which keep profound strict mathematical harmony with the number of beads forming the necklace of Buddha.

After each humanoid epoch, and in accordance with the laws of time, space, and motion, the wheel of the Arcanum 10 of the Tarot inevitably turns, and so it is manifestly clear that the devolutive waves of life descend into the interior of the planetary organism only to re-ascend later on...

The wheel of samsara turns three thousand times. Understand that: to capture its profound significance is essential and cannot be postponed if we really long for the final liberation.

Continuing with this chapter, we must attract the reader’s attention with the objective of asserting the following: after the completion of the three thousand periods of the great wheel, any kind of esoteric realization is impossible. In other words, we must state the unavoidable fact that every Monad is mathematically assigned three thousand cycles for its profound realization. Without a doubt, after the last turn of the wheel, the doors are closed.

When this happens, the Monad (the immortal spark, our real Being) gathers up its Essence and its principles to be ultimately absorbed into the bosom of that which has no name (the supreme Parabrahman).

Obviously, failed Monads who have not achieved mastery possess divine happiness, but do not have legitimate self-awareness. They are only sparks of the great blaze. They cannot become flames...

Those sparks can give no excuse, since the three thousand turns of the wheel are always carried out through many cosmic days and in various universal settings that offer infinite possibilities.

Above the wheel of the Arcanum 10 we see a sphinx adorned with a crown of nine metal points. That Egyptian figure obviously cannot be encountered either to the right or to the left of the great wheel. The crown speaks to us of the Ninth Sphere, of sex, of the esoteric work in Vulcan’s fiery forge. Clearly, this hieratic image is very remote from the evolutive and devolutive laws represented on the right and left sides of the wheel, and indicates to us the path of the revolution of consciousness, real initiatic wisdom...

Only by entering onto the path of inner rebellion, only by removing ourselves from the evolutive and devolutive paths of the wheel of samsara, can we become genuine and true, real humans.

The intransigent exclusion of the doctrine of the trans-migration of souls as taught by Krishna, the great Hindu avatar, imprisons us in the dogma of evolution.

In matters of esotericism, orientalism, occultism, etc., scholars have full freedom to write whatever they please. However, they must not forget the golden book, I mean the “standard of measures,” the Tarot... No one can violate the laws of the Tarot with impunity, without getting what they deserve. Remember that there is the law of Katancia, the superior karma... There is responsibility in words...

The dogma of evolution breaks the cosmic laws of the Arcanum 10 of the Tarot, violates the desiderata of the golden book... and leads many people into error.

Obviously, every erudite occultist, all esotericists, must always call on the “standard of measures,” the Tarot, if they do not want to fall into the absurd.

Inverential peace,

Samael Aun Weor

Sexual Magic