(Samatha) Tranquility Meditation. Sha in Sanskrit means “peace.” Mata means “dwelling” or “stability.” Samatha means “to dwell or to be founded, to have establishment in peace, to dwell in peace.” This is the same as Pratyahara. The term Shamata is also related to the Tibetan shi-ne which means “peace.” Samatha is one-pointed mind, or the varying levels of concentrated attention. According to the Maitreya Buddha, there are nine distinct levels of Shamata.

Share This Page:


  • I am so very grateful for you all and what you have done in my life to help me realize myself and what path it’s actually wise to tread and stay on. Thank you I honestly cannot thank you enough.

  • I cannot thank you enough for all that you are doing and providing to spread the opportunity of true Gnosis. I have greatly benefited from the information on the website...

  • Your lectures, books, practices, etc. have radically changed my life in a profound manner. Especially putting into daily practice the teachings from the lectures... Your efforts making the lectures and everyone involved who makes it possible are a true blessing to humanity and beyond.

  • These books have helped me changed my whole reality,..... Tragic and beautiful that pendulum we swing,...

  • Your books, lectures and courses have made the last years of my life complete. When that final hour comes, I know I will land in the right place.

  • What you guys are doing is really wonderful. You have helped me understand in my spiritual practice. I am truly grateful that your works is changing lives. When the student is really ready, the teacher has finally arrive to guide.